Home › Token Economics › Token Buyback and Burn Explained: How BC1's Vault Works
Token Buyback and Burn Explained: How BC1's Vault Works
A token buyback and burn means a project spends revenue to buy its own token from the market, then destroys some of it so supply shrinks. In Bitcoin.one’s design, a 2% shop margin funds a vault that burns half of what it buys and sends half to rewards. It is a supply mechanism, not a guarantee.
The basic idea
Buybacks borrow from company share repurchases. Instead of paying revenue out, the project uses it to purchase tokens on a decentralized exchange. Burning sends those tokens to a state where they can never be used again, so the maximum supply falls. If demand stays the same and supply falls, each remaining token represents a bigger share. That is the theory; real prices depend on many other forces, from market mood to unlock schedules in BC1’s tokenomics.
How the BC1 version is described
The Bitcoin.one whitepaper sets out the flow:
- A user buys a gift card in the shop. The checkout contract charges a 2% margin in USDC, with a stated ceiling of 5%.
- 100% of fees go to the BuybackVault.
- A keeper buys BC1 with USDC in capped slices with slippage limits.
- Half of the bought BC1 is burned, half goes to rewards.
- The paper says there is no withdrawal path for USDC or BC1 from the vault except buyback, burn or rewards.
Sending BTC or BC1 inside the app is free, so, based on what the paper states, the shop margin is the funding source. The project’s buybacks page says every buyback is an on-chain transaction anyone can verify, and it carries labelled fields for fees used, BC1 bought back, BC1 burned and BC1 sent to rewards. When we checked, the totals showed as unavailable and the recent-buybacks list was empty, which fits a testnet deployment on BOB Sepolia.
The worked example, with the caveats attached
The paper offers a hypothetical to show scale. We reproduce it as an illustration, not a forecast.
| Monthly volume (hypothetical) | Fees at the paper’s blended rates | Burned (50%) | To rewards (50%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| $1M ($600k P2P, $400k shop) | $8,000 | $4,000 | $4,000 |
| $10M | $80,000 | $40,000 | $40,000 |
| $50M | $400,000 | $200,000 | $200,000 |
Those figures use a hypothetical price of $0.004 per BC1 in the paper’s example, which works out to 2 million BC1 bought and 1 million burned per month at $1M volume. Compare that with 21 billion total supply: a million tokens burned is about 0.005% of supply. Even at the largest scenario the effect is gradual. That is not an argument against buybacks, only a reminder to size expectations by the numbers.
Notice also a wrinkle in the example: the paper’s blended fee works out to $8,000 on $1M, which is 2% of the $400k shop volume, because P2P sends are free. Always recompute any headline claim yourself.
The offsetting sell pressure
The paper is candid that each shop checkout swaps BC1 for the full order value on the DEX, since the shop pays Bitrefill in fiat-equivalent terms. Buybacks are described as smaller than that sell flow and explicitly not a price floor. In other words, the same activity that funds the buyback also creates selling. Net effect depends on mix of users, who might pay with BTC swapped to BC1 or with BC1 they already hold; the paper does not model it.
Key takeaway: a buyback only helps if the amount bought exceeds the selling pressure created by the activity that funds it. Ask for the net figure, not the gross.
Questions the paper leaves open
The buybacks page does not state how often buybacks run, any minimum threshold, or whether the 2% margin and the 50/50 split can change. The whitepaper says owners can change fee settings within ceilings and the burn share, with each change emitting an event. Rewards distribution to holders, and who operates the vault, are also not explained in detail on that page.
How to judge any buyback programme
- Funding source: Is it real revenue or a share of newly issued tokens?
- Transparency: Can you see each purchase on-chain?
- Controls: Who can change the split or pause the vault?
- Sizing: What fraction of supply could it plausibly retire each year?
- Counter-flows: What selling does the same business create?
For a broader checklist of what to read before holding any token, see our guide to reading a crypto whitepaper. Past or planned buybacks do not promise any return, and the project’s risk disclosure says as much. This article is educational, not advice.
Burning versus sending to rewards
The 50/50 split deserves its own look. Burning permanently removes supply. Sending BC1 to rewards moves tokens to people who earn them, and some recipients may sell. So the “burn” half is the one that cannot return to the market, and the “rewards” half is a transfer that can. Together they make the programme partly deflationary and partly a distribution mechanism. If you model it, count only the burned half as supply reduction.
Comparing buyback designs
| Design | What happens to bought tokens | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|
| Burn all | Destroyed | Cleaner supply story, no reward funding |
| Burn half, reward half (BC1, per paper) | Split | Funds incentives while shrinking supply |
| Hold in treasury | Retained | Can be re-sold later, so weaker signal |
| Distribute to stakers | Paid out | Behaves like a yield, may create sell flow |
None of these is inherently superior. What matters is whether the rules are fixed in code and visible on-chain. The paper says the vault has no withdrawal path other than buyback, burn or rewards, and the project’s buybacks page points to the vault contract on the BOB Sepolia explorer. Those are checkable claims once the mainnet vault exists.
Slices, slippage and why they matter
The paper says the keeper buys in capped slices with slippage limits. Large single purchases move a thin market against the buyer, so slicing reduces cost, and slippage limits cancel a trade that would execute at a bad price. The consequence is that buybacks can lag fee income when liquidity is thin, since the vault may wait rather than overpay. The paper does not state buyback frequency or thresholds, so you cannot infer timing from it.
What to watch after launch
- Whether the vault address on mainnet matches the one in the paper.
- The ratio of BC1 burned to BC1 sold through shop checkouts over the same period.
- Whether fee settings or the burn share change, since owners can adjust them within ceilings and each change emits an event.
- Whether the buyback page shows real totals instead of “unavailable”.
Our tokenomics breakdown gives the supply context for these measurements. A burn that looks large in dollars can still be a fraction of one percent of supply, and a burn that looks small can still matter if it exceeds net selling. Keep both views in mind.
Frequently asked questions
What is a token buyback and burn?
A project uses revenue to buy its own token on the market and then permanently destroys some or all of it, reducing supply. It does not guarantee a price increase.
How does the Bitcoin.one buyback work?
Per the whitepaper, fees go to a BuybackVault contract. A keeper buys BC1 with USDC in capped slices with slippage limits; half is burned and half goes to rewards.
Where do the buyback funds come from?
The paper names a 2% margin on shop checkouts. Sending BTC or BC1 in the app carries no app fee.
Is a buyback a price floor?
No. Both the whitepaper and the risk page say buybacks are not a price floor, and each shop checkout also sells BC1 for the order value.